News

MTV Base Partners with African Union and Dubai Expo for Africa Honour Day

MTV Base

Johannesburg, 10 March 2022: MTV Base, Africa’s premium entertainment youth and culture brand, partnered with the African Union (AU) and Dubai Expo to commemorate Africa’s first-ever participation at the world expo on Sunday, 27 February 2022, with an event dubbed ‘The Africa Honour Day Concert’. The event which was sponsored by the Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa (BADEA) was aimed at positioning Africa to the world. 

As a media partner for the global showcase, MTV Base committed to be a voice through its platforms for the Honour Day campaign, which brought together Africa’s Heads of States and government, high-level private sector decision makers and key development partners alongside the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) leadership to jointly reimagine a sustainable future for the continent through the promotion of local talent.

Speaking about the event, Dr. Levi Uche Mdueke, the AU Dubai Expo commissioner General and Head of Partnerships said, “The objective of the concert was to spotlight the positive narratives around the African continent by leveraging the power of music. The Paramount Africa team understood the assignment and represented us well at the global stage. This is in line with Agenda 2063”.

‘The Africa Honour Day Concert’ in association with MTV Base was hosted on stage by the dynamic duo of Folu Storms from Nigeria and Lunga Kupiso from South Africa. It had performances from Morocco’s legendary performer, Cheikh Oueld Labied; South African-born afrobeats DJ, Spokenpriestess, who was joined by Versatile during her set; Nigerian singer and songwriter, Mayorkun; South Africa’s celebrated Afro Pop duo, Mafikizolo; Congolese sensation, Fally Ipupa; and the proclaimed queen of South African and African street culture, DJ Thuli P. It was a fusion of incredible talent from across the continent, delivering an unforgettable night of African flavour.

“This was the first ever African concert at the Dubai Expo. The world was dancing and singing African music. The professionalism and flexibility of the Paramount team in delivering this unique show piece should be applauded,” commented Faith Adhiambo, Communication Officer Agenda 2063.

“As a brand, we are inspired to continuously promote initiatives through powerful partnerships that are committed to realise a reimagined Africa built on narratives of innovation, creativity, resilience and cultural renaissance. Partnerships like these are critical to our success. With the reduced prevalence of the pandemic, we are proud and excited at the return of live on-the-ground events, and we are thrilled to be back doing what we know best – many more to come,” stated Monde Twala, Senior Vice President, Paramount. 

Giving her remarks about the show, Leslie Richer, AU’s Director of Information & Communication said, “The honour day concert was Epic! One for the history books. The world was watching and listening and Africa delivered, the Paramount team delivered. Thank you, exceptional team, great work.” 

’The Africa Honour Day Concert’ in association with MTV Base will air on MTV Base ROA/SA, DStv Channel 322 on Sunday, 13 March at 20:00 WAT / 21:00 CAT. The show is set to repeat on MTV Base ROA at 20:00 WAT on Thursday, 17 March, again on Saturday, 19 March and on Sunday, 27 March. It will also repeat on MTV Base SA on Wednesday, 16 March at 21:00 CAT, again on Saturday, 19 March at 20:00 CAT and on Sunday, 27 March at 21:00 CAT. 

Viewers can also catch the show on BET Africa DStv Channel 129, on Tuesday, 14 March at 22:00 WAT / 23:00 CAT; on Saturday, 19 March at 12:00 WAT / 13:00 CAT and on Friday, 25 March at 12:45 WAT / 13:45 CAT.

Join the conversation using the hashtag #MTVBaseatExpo #AUatExpo2020 #Agenda2063 and follow @mtvbaseafrica across all social platforms for more details.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.