Absa Bank Botswana announce new independent non-executive director and board chair

The Board of Directors of Absa Bank Botswana Limited (“the Bank”), is pleased to announce the appointment of Daniel Neo Moroka as an Independent Non-Executive Director and Board Chairman of the Bank, effective 1 July 2021. This appointment follows the resignation of former Board Chairman Mr Oduetse Motshidisi on 12 August 2020 and is subject to conclusion of the voting of shareholders at the Bank’s 35th Annual General Meeting (“AGM”) scheduled for 28 June 2021.

Mr Moroka is a seasoned executive and strategic leader with 40 years of experience spanning across the corporate industry locally and regionally, as well as the public sector in Botswana. His corporate experience includes financial services, retail and wholesale, oil and gas, mining, as well as the trade sectors. He is currently the Resident Director of the De Beers Group of Companies and Chairman of De Beers Global Sight Holder Sales in Botswana. Having joined De Beers in 2010, he is responsible for the overall strategic direction and governance of the companies in Botswana as well as for the management of the relationship between De Beers and the Government of Botswana. His extensive leadership and corporate governance experience has seen him leading organisations such as BP Botswana, BP Zambia, and BP Southern Africa, while having served on the boards of listed entities such as Funeral Services Group and Sefalana Holdings.

Early on in his career, Mr Moroka worked across different portfolios in the banking sector and subsequently served as a Non-Executive Director for Bank of Botswana, Barclays Bank of Botswana and the National Development Bank. Mr Moroka is a former politician who served as the Minister of Trade and Industry from 2004 to 2009 in the Government of Botswana. He holds a BSc (Magna Cum Laude) Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences from Texas A&M University and a Master of Science in Animal and Range Sciences from New Mexico State University, United States of America. Mr Moroka is also a member of the Botswana Institute of Bankers and the Institute of Directors, South Africa. The Board looks forward to Mr Moroka’s leadership and strategic direction as the Bank strives for continued business growth and success for all stakeholders.

On behalf of Management, Employees and Stakeholders of the Bank, the Board welcomes Mr Moroka into his new role and is confident that his wealth of experience will inspire further delivery of the Bank’s ambition. The Board further wishes to express sincere gratitude to the Interim Chairman, Mr Alfred Majaye Dube, who has been at the Board’s helm since 13 August 2020. Mr Dube joined the Board in November 2009, and will retire from the Board after the conclusion of the Bank’s AGM on 28 June 2021.

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Exit mobile version